News from Michelle Shocked - October 2010

Looking back on the entire Roadworks 2010 endeavor I declare it an unqualified success. Happily, I’m relieved that my concert schedule for the remainder of 2010 has been finalized and posted (website, networks and below). During my efforts to return to Florida this November, I hit a bump in the road and thus I put the word out among my Florida Facebook friends and lo and behold…I now have 5 dates booked in the Sunshine State. Thanks, guys!
 
Thanks to all (so far) who have supported the effort; agents, promoters, radio, bloggers, journalists, street teams, fans, friends and fellow artists. I confess I am truly the most well-loved woman in the world! Thank you more than words can say! Hopefully we are helping to reinvent the wheel for independent artists. I’ll catch my breath, try to come up with a good theme, and start all over again for 2011.

West Coast US Roadworks - March 2011
Rocky Northwest US Roadworks – April 2011
East Coast US Roadworks – May 2011
Midwest US Roadworks – September 2011
Ireland & UK Roadworks – October 2011
South East US Roadworks – November 2011

On the one hand, I’m pleased that this year’s American Idle theme has been so well received and supported by folks who acknowledge that the quality of discussion in a high-stakes election year on the plight of working families and victims of our ‘jobless recovery’ has been picayune, if not downright paltry. On the other hand, I wish I was more effective at getting folks fired up. The small-government crowd wants to shrink our representation down to a size they can drown in a bathtub while the elephant in the room blows Pentagon sized soap bubbles… never mind, that attempt at metaphor just isn’t going to wash…
 
For the persistent, ardent Michelle Shocked supporters in Australia, I have promised continuing trying to firm up a tour Down Under in 2011. Recommendations were suggested for a series of venues on the Gold Coast, (Lizotte’s?) and I’m waiting to hear from them in order to create an ‘anchor’ for further bookings there during the first few weeks of January 2011. Thanks to all for your encouragement with that effort. I reckon I gotta get back down there before the PM’s ginger goes grey.
 
In any event, David and I return to Japan the second week of December for my two week stint as his roadie. I’m actually looking forward to it.
 
Meanwhile, Texas, Britannia and Sunshine, make way..Roadworks 2010 is coming through!
 
Wed Oct 13 AllGood Café Dallas TX
Thu Oct 14 Casbeer’s San Antonio TX
Fri Oct 15 Cactus Café Austin TX
Sat Oct 16 McGonigel’s Mucky Duck Houston TX
Sun Oct 17 Blue Moon Saloon Lafayette LA
Fri Oct 29 Cyprus Avenue Cork IRE
Sat Oct 30 Spirit Store Dundalk IRE
Sun Oct 31 Real Music Club at Errigle Inn Belfast N. IRE
Tue Nov 2 Queens Hall Edinburgh UK
Wed Nov 3 Academy 3 Manchester UK
Thu Nov 4  Thunderbolt Bristol UK
Fri Nov 5 Marrs Bar Worcester UK
Sat Nov 6 West End Centre Aldershot UK
Sun Nov 7 Academy 2 Islington, London UK
Thu Nov 11 Craftsman House St. Petersburg FL
Fri Nov 12 PLAY Tampa FL
Sat Nov 13 Bluesboro Studio Rockledge FL
Sun Nov 14 Black Box at Sunrise Ft. Pierce FL
Mon Nov 15 Casa Loco Safety Harbor FL
Tue Nov 16 Eddie’s Attic Decatur GA
Wed Nov 17 Neighborhood Theatre Charlotte NC
Thu Nov 18 The Casbah Durham NC
Sat Nov 20 Chickie Wah Wah New Orleans LA
 
Here's a snap (thanks, Jeff!) from our volunteer 'farmer' in Minneapolis during the September Midwest Roadworks tour. He got a little flustered and forgot his line...
Us: "Hey, Farmer! You been livin' here all yer life?"
He: "Yep."